BY- ELECTION RESULT- Labour hold Binley and Willenhall seat - The Coventry Observer

BY- ELECTION RESULT- Labour hold Binley and Willenhall seat

Coventry Editorial 15th Jul, 2022 Updated: 15th Jul, 2022   0

LABOUR held its Binley and Willenhall seat in yesterday’s by-election as Seyi Agboola was elected to Coventry City Council.

Coun Agboola finished the night with 934 votes, 169 more than Conservative candidate Amarjit Singh Khangura, who finished second.

Coventry Citizens Party candidate Paul Cowley came third.

Polling stations were open between 7am and 10pm on Thursday with the voter turnout for the ward being 20 per cent.

The results were announced just after midnight on Friday morning.

The by-election was called to fill the vacant seat following the passing of Coun John Mutton.


Seyi Agboola (Labour) – 934 votes 

Amarjit Singh Khangura (Conservative) – 765 votes

Paul Cowley   (Coventry Citizens Party) – 746 votes

Marianne Angela Fitzgerald (Alliance for Democracy and Freedom) – 91 votes

Michael James Morgan (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition) – 46 votes

Business Directory

From plumbers, to restaurants, we can provide you with all the info you need.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Coventry Observer.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.

Buy Photos

Buy photos online from the Coventry Observer newspaper.