2nd Dec, 2021

Help plant thousands of trees in your local area

AS part of Coventry City Council’s commitment to plant 360,000 new trees in the city in the next 10 years, that’s one for every citizen, they are inviting local people to take part in making it happen.

Thousands of trees will be planted in Allesley Park, Sowe Common, Longford Park, Floyds Field and Park Wood in November and December to kick off this year’s tree-planting season, hoping to plant just shy of 18,000 trees.

The wide variety of new trees will not only provide habitats and homes for wildlife, but also help combat air pollution as well as providing green spaces for all to enjoy.

The trees are being provided by Trees for Cities, a UK charity that works to plant trees globally.

Anyone who wishes to take part can volunteer by turning up in sensible shoes between 10am-2pm and be ready to use a shovel.

The planting days, subject to weather, are:

  • Allesley Park – west side of the park – 5950 trees
  • Tuesday 9 November
  • Thursday 11 November

Sowe Common – near Walsgrave Cemetery off Woodway Lane, south of the M6 motorway – 4325 trees

  • Tuesday 16 November
  • Thursday 18 November

Floyds Field – north end of the field – 2000 trees

  • Sunday 21 November

Longford Park – throughout the whole park – 3650 trees

  • Tuesday 23 November
  • Thursday 25 November
  • Saturday 27 November
  • Saturday 4 December

Park Wood extension – the open space between Park Wood and Ten Shilling Wood, accessible from Charter Ave, near to Wolfe Road junction

  • Tuesday 7 December

Printing

We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.

Subscribe

Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.

Digital Advertising

Advertise on the Coventry Observer to boost your online presence.