RUGBY UNION - Coventry RFC name team to face Ampthill - The Coventry Observer

RUGBY UNION - Coventry RFC name team to face Ampthill

Coventry Editorial 8th Apr, 2022 Updated: 8th Apr, 2022   0

COVENTRY RFC have made three changes to the starting line up as the club look to back up last weekend’s victorious league finale against Richmond in the first knockout round of the Championship Cup.

Coventry play Ampthill in a double-legged tie with the opening fixture at Dillingham Park – before the return fixture at Butts Park Arena in a few weeks.

Jordon Poole is in the starting hooker shirt as Suva Ma’asi looks to make an impact from the bench.

Toby Trinder and Matt Johnson will accompany Poole in the front row as they aim to supply steady set-piece opportunity.

Adam Peters and James Tyas once again form the second row pairing. Tom Ball will start the game as a replacement, with Senitki Nayalo donning the six shirt this weekend.

Josh Bainbridge forms a third of the back row next to Ryan Burrows – who plays in his final Championship Cup campaign after announcing his forthcoming retirement at the end of the current season.

The youthful and exciting half back pairing of Josh Barton and Evan Mitchell once more start at nine and 10 respectively.

The only change from the Richmond fixture two weeks ago, concerning the backs, is in the centres. Rob Knox shifts in one to the outside centre position to replace the unwell Andy Forsyth alongside Will Owen at 12.

The vacant wing position will be filled by James Martin who forms a back three with the ever-dependable Louis Brown and electric Tom Stanton.

Luc Jeannot and Jake Bridges will make their impact in the front row as replacements, whilst Fred Betteridge and Tom Ball are the other substitutes in the pack.

The final three subs to join the backline are Dan Babos, Anthony Fenner and Louis James.

Coventry RFC starting XV

1. Toby Trinder 2. Jordon Poole 3. Matt Johnson 4. James Tyas 5. Adam Peters 6. Senitiki Nayaylo 7. Josh Bainbridge 8. Ryan Burrows (c) 9. Josh Barton 10. Evan Mitchell 11. Tom Stanton 12. Will Owen 13. Rob Knox 14. James Martin 15. Louis Brown


16. Suva Ma’asi 17. Luc Jeanott 18. Jake Bridges 19. Fred Betteridge 20. Tom Ball 21. Dan Babos 22. Tony Fenner 23. Louis James

Coventry’s clash with Ampthill takes place on Saturday, April 9 with kick-off at 3pm at Dillingham Park.

Support community journalism by making a contribution.

The Coventry Observer's team of journalists provide a trusted source news, sport, entertainment and events going on in your area and issues which matter to you - both via our free weekly print edition and daily updates on our website.

Every contribution, however big or small, you can make will help us continue to do that now and in the future.

Thanks for reading this and the Coventry Observer.

Are you on Facebook?

Like or follow our Facebook page - to get daily news updates straight to your news feed.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.

Business Directory

From plumbers, to restaurants, we can provide you with all the info you need.


Find a career you'll love with our free career finder website.

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Coventry Observer.